Metal level plans Available as of January 1

Beginning in 2014, all non-grandfathered Individual and Small Group health plans will be organized in four levels of coverage:

Bronze, Silver, Gold, and Platinum.

The levels are based on actuarial value calculations, and define the split between what the consumer pays and what the health plan pays. As the metal category increases in value, so does the percent of medical expenses that health plans cover.

Guaranteed availability and renewability

Health insurers must accept any individual or business group that applies for coverage.

Percentage of Expenses:

Paid by  health plan    Paid by individual

Platinum      90%                          10%

Gold             80%                          20%

Silver          70%                           30%

Bronze         60%                          40%

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.